A Foray Into Hymn Writing

In the past few weeks I have begun to write texts of hymns based on texts of Scripture I have been meditating on. We’ll see how it goes. Singing hymns has always been a mainstay of my prayer life. May be a good way of going deeper with the Lord.

Here are the first two.

This first one is based on Psalm 130 because I love that Psalm. Last year seems like the Lord gave me two lines of that psalm to meditate upon- particularly since I did not know til I got home and looked it up that they were from the same psalm.

OUT OF THE DEPTHS I CALL, O GREAT I AM, TO THEE!
Out of the depths I call,
O Great I AM, to Thee!
Hark to my voice, O Lord of all,
And hear my plea!
Turn not Thine ears away;
I cry out for Thy grace!
O Christ who reign’st in endless day,
Show me Thy Face!

If Thou should’st mark our guilt,
Then who, O Lord, could stand?
Have mercy as Thou wilt,
O Lord, my sins disband.
In God alone I hope;
For Christ my soul doth long!
Him who for me from death arose
I’ll praise with song!

More than the watchman waits
So longs my soul for Thee;
O Lord, more than he waits daybreak
I wait for Thee!
With Thee is mercy vast;
O Christ my sins do cover!
Like Israel in all ages past
Thou my hope forever!

Words: Noah Townsend, Copyright 2012. Based on Psalm 130
Tune:Leoni

The following hymn is dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus and loosely based on the Litany of the Sacred Heart as this has become a central devotion for me… and, well, I haven’t come across a lot of good hymns dedicated to the Sacred Heart:

Sacred Heart of Jesus by Jose Maria Ibarraran

SACRED HEART OF CHRIST OUR SAVIOUR
Sacred Heart of Christ our Saviour,
Holy font of God’s great Love,
Let our hearts from Thee ne’er waver;
Be our refuge sure above!
Heart of Jesus! Heart of Jesus! Heart of Jesus!
Make us burn with Thy great love!
Make us burn with Thy great love!

Great High Priest of our profession
liftest up the faint and weak;
Be Thou e’er our sole possession,
Heart who for us intercedes!
Heart of Jesus! Heart of Jesus! Heart of Jesus!
Be Thou gracious to our pleas!
Be Thou gracious to our pleas!

Wounded Heart, O Blazing Furnace,
Vast Abyss of Charity,
Let Thy holy flame consume us!
Make us e’er more like to Thee!
Humble Jesus! Humble Jesus! Humble Jesus!
Hear us! Save us! Set us free!
Hear us! Save us! Set us free!

Heart despisèd, Heart afflicted,
Heart who knows our suffering,
Be now in all hearts uplifted:
Reign o’er all O glorious King!
Humble Jesus! Humble Jesus! Humble Jesus!
All the world Thy praise now sings!
All the world Thy praise now sings!

Rest of weary, Hope of sinners,
Heart of Christ the crucified,
Recreate us in Thine Image
That Thy Name be glorified!
Lord have mercy! Christ have mercy! Lord have mercy!
Let us be like Him who died!
Let us be like Him who died!

Christ our God, our Friend and Brother,
Love far deeper than the sea,
Let our hearts know not another,
Heart who for us ever bleeds!
Lord have mercy! Christ have mercy! Lord have mercy!
Bind us e’ermore unto Thee!
Bind us e’ermore unto Thee!

King of mercy, our Salvation,
Lord of Love, reign now alone!
Start in us Thy new creation:
Thy Heart our eternal home!
Come Lord Jesus! Come Lord Jesus!
Come Lord Jesus!
Set on earth Thy glorious Throne!
Set on earth Thy glorious Throne!

Words: Noah Townsend, Copyright 2012.
Tune:Bryn Calfaria

About Noah

musings of a young Catholic aspiring to be faithful to his Lord and God Jesus Christ through His Holy Catholic Church
This entry was posted in Christianity, Hymnody. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Foray Into Hymn Writing

Leave a Reply

