Hymns For Spiritual Warfare

So I felt inspired to write some hymns based on spiritual warfare prayers:

This first one is a hymn version of a favorite prayer of mine that my buddy Geoff introduced me to from the Russian tradition. Here is the text of the prayer followed by my hymn version:

Let God arise and let His enemies be scattered and let those who hate Him flee from before His Face. As smoke vanisheth so let them vanish; as wax melteth before the flame so let the demons perish from before the face of them who love God and sign themselves with the Sign of the Cross and say in gladness: “Rejoice, most precious and life-giving Cross of the Lord!” For thou drivest away the demons by the power of our Lord Jesus Christ who was crucified on thee, descended to Hell and trampled down the power of the devil and gave us thee, His Cross, for the driving away of every adversary! O Most Precious and Life-giving Cross of the Lord! Help together with the Holy Lady Virgin Theotokos and all the Saints unto the ages of ages! Amen.

Russian Icon of the Crucifixion

HYMN TO THE LIFE-GIVING CROSS
Let God arise and so put to flight
All those who hate His Name;
His enemies be now made to flee
Before His Face in shame!
As smoke doth fade, so let them give way
Like wax before the flame!

Let all Hell’s powers fall back and cower
From those who love the Lord!
The sign of the Cross turns all else to loss:
To Christians ‘tis our sword!
Christ makes us glad; He healeth the sad:
Rejoice we in His Word!

O Cross, we pray, drive the demons away
By Him who died on Thee:
Who descended to Hell, and Satan did fell,
And rose to set us free!
He rose from the grave; to us thee He gave
To rout all enemies!

O Precious Cross of the Lamb without spot,
Be thou our help today
With the Mother of God and all Saints above
Forever and always!
O Blest Trinity, we worship Thee
From age to endless age!

Words: Noah Townsend, Copyright 2012. Based on the Russian “Prayer to the Life-Giving Cross”
Tune:Morning Song

Here is a hymn based on the traditional Prayer to St. Michael the Archangel. Here is the text of the prayer followed by my hymn version:

Saint Michael the Archangel, defend us in the day of battle. Be our safeguard against the wickedness and snares of the devil. May God rebuke him we humbly pray. And do thou, O Prince of the Heavenly Host, by the power of God cast into Hell Satan and all evil spirits who prowl about the world seeking the destruction of souls. Amen.

St. Michael the Archangel Defeating Satan

HYMN TO ST. MICHAEL THE ARCHANGEL
Michael, Archangel Blest,
Shield us in the battle day!
Against all wickedness,
Safeguard us we humbly pray
From Satan’s every plot,
Keep us! Bring them to naught!
Be he rebuked of God:
This our humble prayer today!

Prince of the angel host,
Do thou by the power of God,
All Hell’s powers make remote!
Smite the demons with thy rod!
All spirits that do prowl,
And do seek our downfall,
Cast them back into Hell!
Satan’s kingdom bring to naught!

Words: Noah Townsend, Copyright 2012. Based off of the Prayer to St. Michael the Archangel
Tune:Madrid

This last hymn was inspired by the line in Scripture “Though He slay me, yet will I hope in Him” – Job 13:15. Basically this is a hymn about praising God in the midst of deep suffering:

CHRIST, GOD ALL-MERCIFUL
Christ, God all-merciful, who art Salvation,
Look on Thy servant; let my cry be heard.
Though I’m beset now by storm and tribulation,
Yet will I praise Thy great Name, O Lord!

Christ, Lover of Mankind, Lord of all nations,
Cruel men surround me; they scoff at Thy Word.
When godless men leave my soul in desolation,
Yet will I praise Thy great Name, O Lord!

Christ, Hope of Israel, promised Messiah,
My heart is pained as one pierced by a sword
From death’s dark valley, my soul to Thee doth sigh now:
“Yet will I praise Thy great Name, O Lord!”

Christ, Bearer of our sins; Thou my Redemption,
Tempted, yet sinless, my soul to restore,
When heavy-laden and o’erwhelmed by  temptation
Yet will I praise Thy great Name, O Lord!

Christ, Friend dependable, who art my Brother,
Thou know’st my suff’rings, my pains Thou hast shared.
When I’m abandoned, forsaken by all others,
Yet will I praise Thy great Name, O Lord!

Christ, Lord adorable, Son of the Father,
Thou walk’st beside me, and share’st ev’ry load,
In joy and sorrow, in riches or impoverished,
Yea! E’er I’ll praise Thy great Name, O Lord!

Words: Noah Townsend, Copyright 2012.
Tune:Russia

About Noah

musings of a young Catholic aspiring to be faithful to his Lord and God Jesus Christ through His Holy Catholic Church
This entry was posted in Christianity, Hymnody. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hymns For Spiritual Warfare

Leave a Reply

