More Hymns

Here a few more hymns I wrote in the past week:

This one is based on passages in Romans 12 & 13. I decided to make it Trinitarian in theme by addressing each verse to a different Person of the Trinity:

NOW PRESENT YE ALL YOUR BODIES
“Now present ye all your bodies
As a living sacrifice
Holy, pure to God our Father;
Truly this is meet and right!”
Lord eternal, great Creator,
Loving Father, God adored;
Re-conform us to Thine Image
Through Thy Son, the Christ, our Lord!

“Cast ye off the works of darkness
And put on the armour of light!
Put away all rank corruption,
Malice, envy, strife and spite!”
Spent the nighttime! Gone the darkness!
Glorious daylight is at hand!
Jesus, with Thyself do clothe us;
Thou true, perfect, spotless Lamb!

“Be ye all conformed no longer
To the pattern of this world;
Rather be your minds transformèd
And renewèd by the Lord!”
Holy Spirit, loving Healer,
Fire of God’s transforming love,
Bring within us to completion
The good work Thou hast begun!

Words: Noah Townsend, Copyright 2012.
Tune: Hyfrydol

This one is based on one of my favorite prayers, the prayer of St. Richard of Chichester to our Lord Jesus. Here is the text of the prayer followed by my hymn version:

Thanks be to Thee, O Lord Jesus Christ, for all the cruel pains and insults Thou hast borne for be; for all the many blessings Thou hast won for me. O Holy Jesus, most merciful Redeemer, Friend and Brother: May I know Thee more clearly, love Thee more dearly, and follow Thee more nearly. Amen.

DEAREST JESUS THANKS I RAISE
Dearest Jesus, thanks I raise
For Thy sufferings and pain,
For the insults, shame and scorn
Which Thou for my soul hast borne,
For the blessings Thou didst gain,
Evermore I’ll sing Thy praise!

O Redeemer, Dearest Friend,
Brother on Whom I depend!
Jesus Christ, do Thou let me
More and more clearly know Thee!
Make my walk with Thee more near!
Make my love for Thee more dear!

Words: Noah Townsend, Copyright 2012. Based off of the prayer of St. Richard
Tune:Ratisbon

This one was a fun one to write. It evolved as I wrote. I started off writing a bedtime hymn to the Sacred Heart with the idea of falling asleep next to Jesus’ Heart and then one of the prayers from Compline in the Book of Common Prayer got woven into it as I wrote:

Keep watch, dear Lord, with those who work, or watch, or weep this night, and give your angels charge over those who sleep. Tend the sick, Lord Christ; give rest to the weary, bless the dying, soothe the suffering, pity the afflicted, shield the joyous; and all for your love’s sake. Amen.

LORD JESUS CHRIST, NOW DRAWS THE CLOSE OF DAY
Lord Jesus Christ, now draws the close of day;
Make me this night close by Thy side to stay;
Upon Thy Sacred Heart O let me rest,
And like Saint John lay my head on Thy breast.

O Sacred Heart, Who doth the world sustain,
As I do sleep let me in Thee remain;
Be Thou my comfort and my refuge still!
Save me! Love me! And keep me from all ill!

O Sacred Heart, Desire of all the Blessed,
Hold in Thy keeping all those in distress;
Shield Thou the joyous; Comfort those who weep;
Care for the sick; Watch o’er all those who sleep!

To all the weary, give rest; Help the poor,
And all the dying bring to Thee e’ermore!
All those who labour, watch and pray this night,
Do Thou protect them, O Unwaning Light!

When, O Lord Christ, I fall asleep in death,
May I in Thee find my eternal rest,
That within the vast ocean of Thy love,
I in communion blest e’er live above!

Words: Noah Townsend, Copyright 2012.
Tune:Eventide

About Noah

musings of a young Catholic aspiring to be faithful to his Lord and God Jesus Christ through His Holy Catholic Church
This entry was posted in Anglicanism, Christianity, English Catholicism, Hymnody, New Testament, Prayer and Devotion, Roman Catholicism. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Hymns

Leave a Reply

