Some New Stuff

Here are a couple hymns I wrote this week:

I wrote this one last Sunday evening. That passage in the Gospel of John where St. John the Baptist says “From now on I must decrease and He must increase” came to mind. I’ve always loved that passage. or that matter, I’ve always loved John the Baptist. Anyway, ended up meditating on it and writing this hymn:

I MUST FROM THIS DAY ON DECREASE

Icon of St. John the Baptist

“I must from this day on decrease
That Thou, O Lord, increase”
With John the Baptist this I pray,
That my joy be complete

I must from this day on decrease
That Thou may’st grow within
And bring to fullness in my heart
What Thou, Lord, didst begin

I must from this day on decrease
That to Thy stature Christ
I may at length be yet conformed
in fullness, depth and height.

I must from this day on decrease
That Thou through me may’st shine
And unto all I meet reflect
Thine Image most sublime.

I must from this day on decrease
That I might love Thee more
In heart and mind and soul and strength
Forever glorious Lord!

I must from this day on decrease
That Thou, O Lord, increase
That all men might see, hear and know
Christ Jesus, Prince of peace!

Words: Noah Townsend, Copyright 2012.
Tune:St. Peter

This hymn is based on the first Kontakion and Ode of the great Akathist hymn to Our Lady:

HAIL TO THEE O BRIDE UNWEDDED!

Byzantine Icon of the Mother of God of the Holy Protection

Hail to thee, O Bride Unwedded!
Hail, Thou Mother of our God!
Gabriel came unto thy dwelling
hast’ning with the word of God:
“Lo the Lord doth condescend!
Heav’n to earth He now doth bend!
Whole, unchanged He dwells within thee,
Taking servant’s form, this I see!”

Lo, this sight the great archangel
caught in rapture to behold
did cry out unto the Virgin;
Her his fleshless lips extolled:
“Hail! By whom hath dawned our joy!
By thy ‘yes’ is sin destroyed!
Now is called back sinful Adam;
Now Eve’s tear-stained eyes are gladdened!”

“Hail to thee, O Height unconquered,
never scaled by thought of men!
Hail to thee, O Depth unfathomed
Angels scarce can comprehend!
Hail to thee, O kingly Throne!
Who hath born what thou hast born?
Hail, O Star who art Sun-bearing,
God Incarnate thy womb carrying!”

“Hail to thee, O spotless Virgin
Through thy womb will God renew
Every corner of creation
Which the taint of sin confused!
Hail! Through thee becomes a Babe
He who all creation made!
Now shall every generation
Through thee give God adoration!”

Yea to thee, O Queen unconquered,
Helper of the Christian race
For thy great help and protection
Now a hymn of thanks I raise!
O Thou bearer of the Lord,
Free me from my every hurt,
That to thee with heart unfettered:
I may sing, “Hail, Bride Unwedded!”

Words: Noah Townsend, Copyright 2012. Based on the first Kontakion and Ode of the Akathist Hymn
Tune:Psalm 42

About Noah

musings of a young Catholic aspiring to be faithful to his Lord and God Jesus Christ through His Holy Catholic Church
This entry was posted in Blessed Virgin Mary, Christianity, Eastern Orthodoxy, Hymnody, New Testament, Sacred Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some New Stuff

Leave a Reply

